Chapter 7 of ?


The mood at home is returning to normal after we got Kevin home. Dad seems to go out of his way to do special things as if nothing bad had happened. He’s very cordial on the weekends around us, and at church services I hardly recognize him. He gives the impression of being a saintly person full of charity and kindness. Being tall and handsome, he turns on the charm and people find him easy to like.

Mom knows she has to makes changes. She’s looking for a better job to be able to save some money. Her self confidence is lower than it should be, because she didn’t lose enough weight between having so many kids so fast.

She works at many chores, but I’ve never seen her dirty. Quite an amazing feat I’ve never been able to accomplish! When I get dirty, I stink!

She’s decided to get a better job and start saving money. Of course, Dad is against it, but he finally agreed, with the stipulation that he would not have to do anything around the house, and supper will be ready when he gets home from work. I’ve got news for him – all he does is bring home a paycheck anyway. What I want is a real father, a man I can trust that loves me – a man that doesn’t think of his family as a possession to control and treat as he pleases. A man I can respect. I’m praying, Oh, God, do you make any like that? If you don’t, could you please fix the one we have?

Sally knows only the people at church, and has little time for a few friends. Lamenting to a neighbor, “Mildred, I really want to improve the way I look. I can’t afford better clothes and these are starting to hang on me from losing weight. I know Randy’s going to have a fit when I get my hair cut off. What do you think? Am I making a mistake?”

“I think you need to go ahead and get a better job. There’s a manufacturing company that’s hiring trainees right now – call them, they’ll teach you how to do the job.”

“That’s what I really want to do so I’ll have some money to buy extra things we need. Jane and Heather could take care of the boys this summer so I wouldn’t have to pay a babysitter. I don’t trust anybody else to keep them.”

Mom got the new job!  With her first paycheck she bought two new shirts and pants for work, a pair of shoes, got her hair cut and styled – and lipstick. For women, wearing pants or makeup and cutting their hair is forbidden by the church. Dad didn’t throw a fit this time, but he was not pleased that she now “looked like a harlot.” I was so proud of her as she ignored him and went to buy groceries without asking him for money!

I find it curious at church this morning, the preacher’s wife has much shorter hair. Hmm, wonder why that happened! Mom just told me the lady gave her a tiny bottle of perfume explaining that was acceptable for married ladies to use. For the first time since I can remember, I’m thinking of her as really pretty. Besides that, from what I read in the Bible, harlots are fallen women – Mom may be almost broken, but she’s not fallen.

4 comments on “Chapter 7 of ?

  1. shoreacres says:

    “Mom may be almost broken, but she’s not fallen….”

    Well, now. What’s this whole enterprise about if we can’t have a little fun with it? That line made me think immediately of one of my favorite bluegrass songs – kick back, wiggle your toes and relax for a few minutes while you get ready to write some more!

    • Texasjune says:

      Thanks for the delightful break!

      I’ve written almost all day. Can’t even enjoy reading my favorite blogs tonight because there’s a system problem somewhere between WordPress and Hughesnet – they’re working on it. In the meantime, just a few of my blog links work, and those that do bring up older posts. I’m not receiving any email notification on those I follow. 😦

  2. Texasjune says:

    Thank you Mags. I’ve been working on this story in my head maybe a year. I’ve got some notes, but now I’m trying to pull it out and keep track of where the story wants to go. I appreciate you. If you notice something that makes no sense, I’d appreciate a quick warning!

  3. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    The story is really coming along. 🙂

You are welcome to share what you think?

