Chapter 5 of ? (a kid in danger)


The boys know they are never allowed to play or cross the street alone. Kevin decides it will be okay if he holds Allen’s hand – looks both ways – to dash across the street to visit friends. They have actually done this before, except they didn’t connect the fact that Sally had talked to their friends’ mother, and both mothers stood by the street to tell them when to cross. Today, his idea doesn’t work out well. It is a busy narrow two-lane through street where even thirty miles an hour is fast.

Hearing the horns and loud voices outside, Jane and Heather run out of the house and across the yard. They hear a siren in the distance. A frantic man is carrying Kevin in his arms to another car. Jane runs after him while Heather grabs Allen, sitting him down on the grass checking for injuries. Finding him physically alright, she comforts him.

“I’m taking this kid straight to hospital, and not waiting for anybody,” he yells over his shoulder as he slides into the back seat cuddling Kevin with all the protection he has to hold the gash in his head. As the car speeds away, out of desperation, I begin to pray, “Please God, help us. I cannot lose Kevin. I’m sorry I didn’t watch him close enough. Please God, don’t blame him for my fault. We love him so much.”

When the police arrive and talk to witnesses, they conclude that, in his excitement of doing something he wasn’t sure about, Kevin lead his brother straight into the side of a car. They’re calling the hospital to verify Kevin is there, and get a report on his condition. One officer is clearing the traffic, and moving his patrol car to the side street next to the house, while the other is taking all the kids back into the house. They wait for Sally to get home.

It is Friday afternoon. As her usual routine, Sally is downtown picking up the special sale at the fish market, and stopping by the back door of the bread company, where she buys a big tray of fresh misshapen honey buns for a dollar. These are our treat on the weekend.

Nearing the house, Sally spots the police car. Her heart goes wild as she finally manages to park the car and rush to the house. She has no idea what to expect. An officer meets her at the door to assure her everything was under control. She automatically started looking around to find every kid.

“Where’s Kevin?” The officers explain what happened, while she holds Allen in her lap.

“Jane, are you alright?”

I tell her yes, trying to sound confident.

Heather spoke up, “We’ll stay together, Mom. Nobody will go outside.”

“Take over, I’m going to the hospital,” as she places Allen in a comfortable chair and heads for the door with her keys in her hand.

One officer stops her, “You cannot drive now – you’re too upset.”

“Well, I’m going now one way or another. Either you take me or I’m driving. It’s your choice.” Oh man, I’m thinking to myself. Please understand when she has that tone, nothing will stop her. Evidently, he’s really listening!

The lady officer stays while he drives Sally to the hospital – with lights flashing. She finds that Kevin has a brain concussion as well as the stitches, and will be held overnight for observation. He is in good hands. With the rest of the family to take care of, she leaves him sleeping, and tells his nurse she will be back in a few hours to spend the night with him. The officer finished his report, drives Sally back home, and both officers leave their telephone numbers should she need them.

My stomach is burning from the fear of the thought of possibly losing Kevin. With the realization of what’s coming next, dread grips my heart and I wish for an instant I was dead. Dad will be home in thirty minutes. How will he react to the news…

10 comments on “Chapter 5 of ? (a kid in danger)

  1. We always put something of ourselves into our fiction. Even when we are sure that we haven’t.

    • Texasjune says:

      Good point! I agree, I’ve noticed I cannot speak with words others might choose. Not being educated to the level of subject matter expert in any language or writing skill, I speak only from my perspective of experiencing or witnessing the world. There is a little of me in everything I write, because I can’t cut my connections to … well, everything – everything I believe in, everything I reject, everything I accept. Those connections are important to survive and stay grounded on the place meant for me.

  2. RonWalt says:

    I must warn you, my opinion may not be very useful to you, since I am not a ‘typical’ reader– I am also a writer.

    That said, I want to offer encouragement– but I do it with some trepidation, since I am painfully aware of the agonies of ‘working on a book’!

    I must compliment you on what you have done thus far– it has a lot of ‘polish’ in spite of it being ‘first draft’ in nature.

    It’s useful to remember Oscar Madison’s Rule: It’s impossible to write and spell at the same time!!

    So, if I may, I recommend you keep doing what you are doing: get the essence of the story written down, and worry about polishing it later!

    Don’t forget, though– keep a list of us commentators; you will have to name us in your “acknowledgments” page!

    • Texasjune says:

      I was actually thinking, anyone patient enough to read this would be offered space on my acknowledgment page – either their name, website, or both! The defining moment will be when the book is finished, does anyone want to admit they ever heard of me before! You know, the old ‘guilt by association’ thing! We’ll see when the time comes! I plan for it to be an ebook. I know, they already have a ton-trillion. I figured one more won’t hurt!

      Thanks for the comments and suggestions! I appreciate it.

  3. Wow! Really great story! My heart was in a panic! I’m glad everything turned out okay…

    • Texasjune says:

      If I write this fiction book well enough, I hope the ending is reasonably concluded! Thank you for reading it! I feel like I’m typing text on a billboard, and at any given time, a group will be standing on the ground laughing at ‘that old woman is trying to tell a story – how silly she is.’

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Wow, a bit of excitment, I’m loving the story. 😀

    • Texasjune says:

      Thank you Mags! Hopefully, if the story goes well, there will be real-life excitement/challenges that make sense in the progression of trying to grow up. It takes 6,570 days to become eighteen years old. A lot can happen to anyone! Then, suddenly the person is who they are – and many wonder how they got there!

  5. shoreacres says:

    Oh, gosh. I hadn’t gotten back far enough in your archives to figure out what was going on, and thought this was a post about something that had happened just this morning – in real life. I guess that should tell you something about your writing ability.

    Now that I’ve figured out that you’re doing a bit of a different sort of writing here, I’ll go back and start from the beginning!

    • Texasjune says:

      Thank you for the encouragement. This venture of writing a book of fiction, yet something that shares humanity, is scary for me – to put my skills out there to discover their value, if any! Rejection hurts … and I realize that could be the result. Why, oh why, am I doing this? Maybe it will tell me something about myself…

You are welcome to share what you think?

