Chapter 2 of ?


[Their mom, Sally, had gone to the grocery store and instructed Jane and Heather to totally clean the kitchen before she got back. They knew how to do that well; it was a standard chore. But, kids play, and this time was no different. They were running through the house laughing and slapping each other with dishtowels. Jane hid in a small pantry to get away from Heather.

“Jane, where are you?” Heather was beginning to get nervous. She checked on the little boys to make sure they were okay, and continued to call out for her sister. No way would Jane have left the house, so she kept looking. Suddenly she remembered the pantry and ran to it jerking open the door. Spotting Jane inside, she slammed the door shut and held it tight. She was thinking, ‘Serves you right for hiding from me.’ There was no resistance as Jane started screaming like she was scared to death. Heather opened the door to find Jane totally hysterical, with eyes glazed over in sheer panic and fear. Helping Jane out of the pantry to a chair, the fun was over. Neither girl understood what happened. They cleaned the kitchen and did not mention it to their mom, because they didn’t want to get in trouble for playing when they were supposed to be working.]

7 comments on “Chapter 2 of ?

  1. I wonder were this is going…Looking forward to where it goes next.

    • Texasjune says:

      Thank you for reading it! I’m not advanced enough for the November writing, so I thought I would try something less stressful! I just know your ‘new book’ will be awesome, and I plan to read every word! Maybe you can catch up on mine after November – unless of course I fall on my face before then!

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Well done. The story is starting to take shape, it will be interesting to see what is next. 🙂

  3. wellspring01 says:

    My interest is piqued. You’ve done an excellent job of painting the background–the family and their hardships–as well as the sister dynamic. I sense early on that the little brothers may develop further in the story, but that the sisters will be the key characters. I love the way you’ve set it up, with Jane, who is older, wiser and fully cognizant that her sister’s physical attributes will likely buy her a ticket out of the home before Jane. Escape can take many forms and it will be interesting to see how you treat this aspect.

    Already I’m filling in blanks, imagining the younger Heather having been nearly suffocated as a young child, or locked in a closet…you have to continue now that you’ve started or I won’t sleep at night!

    • Texasjune says:

      Welcome! It’s a pleasure to meet you. Developing these characters is new for me. I’m beginning to visualize them, now I have to portray them as real! I appreciate your encouragement very much. I’ll come over for a visit at your wordpress!

  4. rumpydog says:

    Sounds familiar, except Jane was a boy in my family.

You are welcome to share what you think?

