Lonely Mr Bull


His herd is gone now, and I think he’s  coping as best he can.

Every day, he walks well over two miles, but not before breakfast! After his morning feed, he comes out here to visit with his new best friends. Watch him, the hens are clucking like they all have something to tell him. See him nod his head? He does, just like he understands what they say. If I walk nearer to him, he’ll start to get up. I found if I back up a step or two, he’ll stay where he is. I just leave him alone to visit. He’ll get up when he’s ready for his walk. I just stopped by him for a picture anyway!

5 comments on “Lonely Mr Bull

  1. I wish I was visiting your farm – bulls, chickens, roosters! I bet it would be a hoot!

    • Texasjune says:

      Thank you! I really miss the cows and especially the calves I had to sell. In their first six months, they are so delightful to have around! They play like puppies, chasing and romping around the barn and across the pasture. I have a lot of very fond memories of raising quite a few over the years and watching how the bull and cows interact with them, similar to a family! I had planned to have facilities for visiting – but the downturn in the economy took a big drain on my retirement funds. Oh well, we still have our land – and I am thankful!

    • Texasjune says:

      I had forgotten to say, part of my retirement plan was to build cabins in the woods next to a pasture, to make visitors welcome and comfortable here. We built a tiny house for ourselves that would do fine when we get too old to stay outside much. It’s a dream that hasn’t come true yet. I still believe in dreams – even if I never get a chance to live them! Like I tell myself, “Hey, you’re lucky to live in Texas; ain’t you happy with anything!”

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    That is amazing. The animal kingdom truly is a mystery sometimes, makes you wonder what the conversation is all about. 🙂

You are welcome to share what you think?

