Is “F”ocial Media really real life?


Cow Pasture Barn

Social Media? Thought someone mentioned a famous name recently. I was tricked into registering, but don’t participate. Yep, a kiddo wanted me to join so I could keep up with what she’s up to. Finally arrived at her page, then it got more bizarre. What is a wall?

I decided to look closer at the site’s license agreement and terms of use. It was fine until it got to the part they take license to do anything they wish with my original content, including writing, photos, and images of my paintings. Whoa, Captain of Commerce. I don’t think so!

I realize it’s a losing battle, with people nothing more than chattel – but, I keep hoping we come to our senses before we all wear a number on our forehead (via chip). We are logged and numbered, but don’t have to look at it every day – until we buy something through any means other than cash. When the web goes down like melting blackberry pudding, having internet friends won’t mean much. “It’s just you and me, Babe,” will have a whole new meaning.

In the meantime, all was not lost. I decided to checkout a few other pages! There it was, in plain view, the personal lives and activities of so many people – I felt like I walked right into the middle of culture shock! Now, tell me please, how many pairs of shoes does a woman need? How many girlfriends does it take to make a young man happy? Are there really that many people that play all night, AND work all day? Why do so many hate their jobs and the people they work with?

Believe me, the stories are endless. Yes, I also saw some excellent pages that were interesting and salient to public relationships. The whole experience was enlightening and expanded my view of the world. I suppose that’s not all bad … especially for my perspective from a cow pasture barn in the middle of Texas.

6 comments on “Is “F”ocial Media really real life?

  1. Val says:

    Yes, I’m with you.

    I used to use Facebook but got really fed up with their definition of privacy. They are constantly changing their own rules and things are getting more and more open. It wasn’t me, at all, and I left. I’ve not tried Twitter but it doesn’t appeal to me.

  2. Social media really is a double edged sword. On one hand it allows for a lot more communication and organizing with people you might not have been able to connect with as much in the past. On the other hand, the ability for someone like a Mark Zuckerberg to control all of your info and pass it on to anonymous advertisers and other shadier entities is definitely a concern. Overall, social media can be a great tool but it’s always important to keep in mind who owns it and just what you’re making available to people.

  3. Randall says:

    Seems like in the back of my mind somewhere stuffed in those microchips that there was a time that society functioned wonderfully well without all those gadgets of today. Or was that just some sort of dream I had?

    • Texasjune says:

      But, thanks to WordPress, I found your wonderful writing! Years ago, it would have only been possible if I knew you personally, or at the library after you were published. It blows my mind how far communications has grown just in the last fifty years. I’m having trouble keeping up with it – but it’s a good time to be alive!

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I don’t have a twitter account or facebook account, it’s hard to find the time to keep up with the blogosphere. πŸ™‚ Most of my friends do have these accounts and have often asked whey I didn’t, but I really don’t think it’s me somehow, I tend to be a bit of a private person I suppose. Saying that my friends love to get onto facebook or twitter, and that’s great, as long as you enjoy what you are doing, I feel that is what is important.

You are welcome to share what you think?

