Cock and Bull!


The real Cock and Bull!

Stay subscribed for more country diversions! Critters go through life just as we do. First hand, I can see many circumstances and challenges sometimes mirror ours. Some of those lives are aided and abetted by my opportunity to do so. I don’t mean I have total control – I simply have influence through my protective efforts.

The rooster is now between two worlds. He lost his chicken yard privileges because he attacked a defenseless hen. There, he was #1, where he chose his mates, had food and water readily available, was protected from invasion of wild critters, and appeared happy and content for a long time. Now, chickens don’t spend much time thinking, so he saw no consequences of his assault. He was evicted, and cannot understand why. However, in the process, he gained more freedoms than he ever imagined. Look at him from where he used to be – it’s clear, he is aware enough to know what he lost, and he wants it back. Isn’t that pretty much what life is? Mother Nature may or may not be kind. I am watching and waiting…..and, contemplating why I feel I must apply human behavioral characteristics to animals with lesser cognitive abilities. Suppose I want to know how much we really are alike, or if the correlation is simply a figment of my imagination as I interact with a variety of animals I really do value.

Cotton pouts ...

I returned to the house to find Cotton in his daddy’s lap. My husband said he threw a fit when I left without him. When he realized he would not be allowed to chase the rooster, he started pouting and demanded to be held. From knowing this dog well, he reacts as a child to me. He’s definitely smarter than a chicken, but his emotions can readily be read as human. I feel his love and consider him a friend, knowing full well I have to respect his life as the canine he is. Maybe that’s the mammalian connection? Life is to be lived, I want to enjoy the most important parts of it. I have a guardian somewhere that has allowed that – and I am forever grateful.

4 comments on “Cock and Bull!

  1. Val says:

    Your dog is very sweet. πŸ™‚
    And that’s one bad rooster! Here, in rural Wales, my husband and I ‘look after’ a lot of wild birds (well, they visit us and we’re sociable to them, with food) and occasionally the behaviour of one bird will change. This tends to happen when it thinks it can get more territory or win back territory that it had lost. The strongest bird wins… but occasionally we try to stop fighting. I always feel that I’m doing something that’s against nature: they have a right to live their lives as is natural to them, but I’m a human animal can’t help myself.

    • Texasjune says:

      Welcome Val!. I agree about wildlife. On a ranch where we have domesticated animals and wildlife, I have to respect the nature of each species. During this drought we keep a full water tank away from the house for any animal that needs it!

  2. Chuckles! So will you ever let him back in?

    Cotton is adorable! It’s funny how easy we can read our pets emotions. My dog brought my shoes over to me and dropped them on the ground with a look of “It’s time for a walk.”

  3. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I’m still laughing over the rooster, and it does seem he wants to go back, obviously no one to bully on the outside. πŸ˜†
    I love your dog Cotton, such a cutie.

You are welcome to share what you think?

