A very bad rooster!


Troublemaker

Maybe it’s the wayward tail feather that gave him away, or gave him a complex that made him do it! You’ve heard jokes about Texas “Chicken Ranches,” well here’s a real story about a hen house on a Texas ranch!

We adopted a small flock from a friend moving to the city. Six hens and three roosters – living and thriving together friends. Right?

Until today, that is. I was on my way to the chicken yard at regular feeding time when I heard such a commotion. I immediately thought a critter must have gotten in with them. I ran in time to see this one had a hen pinned to the ground and plucking her feathers out. She was screaming, and the other hens were running around trying to get away from the scene. I threw open the gate reaching to try to get him off her, lost my balance and fell flat on my butt! I cannot describe how angry I was with him – especially when he decided he had enough of her and slowly walked back and forth in front of me as I was trying to get up! With that tail feather and head held high, he crowed like he was trying to tell me he could do anything he wanted. I stared at him and with my most snarly voice, “You touch me, I’ll wring your neck where you stand.” I keep the pen clean, but I fell on a fresh dropping I know had to be his! It was disgusting. I topped the feed bowls and warned him there would be further action on this issue, and limped back to the house.

When my husband got home, I whispered, “I got a clandestine job for you tonight.” He looked puzzled, but said, “Sure, Honey, what ya need done?”

“I need to evict a rooster.” Then stated my case fact by fact. He smiled, but managed not to laugh! “Well, you’ve judged eviction, not execution, right?”

“Right.”

He whispered, “Get a flashlight and meet me at the cart in one minute – we’ll do the job before I eat supper.” Slipping out into the dark night, my little flashlight guided our way to the chicken yard on the other side of the barn. They were all on the roost asleep.

My husband whispered, “Take the light, don’t shine it in his eyes, but tell me which one he is.”

“Okay – that’s him, the third from the left.” With that, my hero husband gently picked him up to carry him outside. The yell that rooster put out reminded me of the screaming that poor hen did today, and he wasn’t even in pain! She couldn’t even lay her daily egg today. Everything was silent as my husband carried him to a large branch of an oak tree nearby. He has been officially evicted.

On the way back to the house, my dog after watching the whole thing, kept licking my knee as he sat next to me in the cart. I’m sure he was telling me, “I’ll be really really good – you won’t have to put me out of my house!”

6 comments on “A very bad rooster!

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Couldn’t help but laugh, what a story to tell. You just have to love that tail feather.
    I love how you evicted that cheeky rooster, I bet the others are silently thanking you. πŸ˜€

  2. That is hilarious! My mother always says “Don’t give me a cock and bull story!”.
    I’ll have to tell her about the real cock and bull. πŸ˜€

    • Texasjune says:

      They were funny together today! I’ll try to get a picture tomorrow you can share with your mom. If that rooster survives a week (which I fully expect), I’ll have to give him a name! Any suggestions?

  3. shoreacres says:

    Oh, gosh. I was sure it was going to be – that other option. πŸ˜‰

    When I lived in Liberia, I had a pet rooster named Mr. McBaawck. He came in every night and roosted on the bicycle handlebars – otherwise he surely would have been kidnapped or eaten.

    Unfortunately, he was an early riser – sometimes as early as 3 a.m. My neighbor was a surgeon who sometimes had to work at night, and he didn’t appreciate McBaawck. One day he strolled over and said, “I’ll give you twenty bucks for that rooster.” I knew I’d better agree, so I did. The next Sunday, we went to the surgeon’s house for dinner. His wife insisted the meal was McBaawck-free, but I never believed her.

  4. Texasjune says:

    He’s now following Mr Bull around the pasture. Last night when I fed the bull – he came running up demanding his feed too! Quite an ego that one has! When “Cotton” (my Bichon Frise) decided to chase the donkeys, the rooster quickly decided to hide under the bull! It’s a tie who has a bigger around here, and a wonder how any of us survive!

  5. Oh you just made me laugh out loud! Darn that dreaded rooster! He’s lucky you only evicted him! I don’t know if I could be that compassionate πŸ˜‰

You are welcome to share what you think?

