unfinished cowboy (oil painting)


Unfinished Cowboy

I was talking with Mairi Budreau, a Canadian artist whose work I really like. She had posted a WIP (work in progress) of one of her paintings, named “Victorio.”  Hint – she’s more advanced in her talent than I am!

Anyway, I told her I would post one I’m working on – so here is “Jake.” Now that’s not his real name, because he isn’t a real person. He’s a figment of my imagination! Sorry the photo ended up a tad blurry, but when I eventually get it finished, I’ll post a new one.

So, here he is, Mairi! See, I told you yours was better! Have a wonderful day!

PS: I didn’t show her website, because I forgot to get her permission to put a link on my Blogroll. Hopefully, I can do that soon!

3 comments on “unfinished cowboy (oil painting)

  1. shoreacres says:

    I can’t draw a straight line, so I admire people who can put brush or pen to paper and create something wonderful, as you have here.

    Has anyone ever told you your cowboy looks a little like Hondo Crouch? I think he does. He looks friendly, too. 😉

    • Texasjune says:

      Thanks for the tip on Hondo! I can’t believe I’ve never read up on Luckenbach! That’s what happened when I ‘retired’ late in life – I always feel like I’m behind on everything I wanted to do. When I paint my ‘faces,’ I never use a photo reference. It makes it blatantly clear what my mind sees, and what it doesn’t! A lot of comments have included, “I know I’ve seen that person before – it will bug me until I remember the name.” – – – With a rare writing talent like yours, don’t worry about painting! Thank you for visiting me.

  2. Even with a bit of a blurry photo you can see how well his eyes stand out against the background color. Looking good!

You are welcome to share what you think?

