A study in life …


Study of Imaginary Faces

When I was a young woman, I remember the first sentence most strangers would ask in a social situation. “What do you do?” Or, if they knew you worked for a company, “What is your title?” The query was always spoken with a smile.

As the years went by, my life became more complex with a variety of activities. My answers became varied specific to the social occasion. I added, “Mrs.” – “Mother” – “Private Personnel Recruiter” – “Executive Administration” – “Realtor” – “Business Owner” – “Rancher” – “Artist” – “Quilter” – “Custom Accent Treasure Box Designer and Builder” – “Writer,” …. and “Grandmother.” Many concurrent choices too.

After many years, I no longer offer an answer, but usually respond, “I manage to stay busy.” With a smile, I ask, “What are your special interests?”

With that in mind, I thought I would post a study painting I did about ten years ago (obviously with no formal training)! But, that’s okay with me. Art in my life is where I take my practice, and enjoying the massive talent I see from others.

All this to say – you are not just your job, your title, or the thing you do to earn a living. Become comfortable being all the parts of yourself – the creative, the productive, the energetic or the lazy. Accept expertise with humility, and participation with hope – life is meant to be lived with pride and enjoyment.

7 comments on “A study in life …

  1. shoreacres says:

    Isn’t it amazing how many roles we play? The better part of wisdom, I suppose, is realizing when a role has run its course, and it’s time to let it go.

    I think, for example, of “caretaker”. For fifteen years I cared for my mom. I didn’t resent it (except for a few times, which I shared with others, not Mom), but now that she’s gone, it’s time for me to let go of that role, and move on. It’s easy to get “frozen” in roles, and miss opportunities because of it.

    Your lady has quite an appraising look in her eye. Perhaps she’s pondering her own roles!

    • Texasjune says:

      I believe she does, because at various times I look at her – I sense something different. Maybe it depends on my own mood at the moment. I am attached emotionally to each and every one of my paintings, as if they’re a part of my history of existence.

      My own mother died too young within months of her diagnosis of brain cancer and I still cannot bare to look at her pictures without the flood of ‘what-if’ pain. She had lived with my sister several years until then. Sis and I have talked frequently about those times and have wondered how many more roles we will face in our future, for those we love and for ourselves.

  2. Wise words indeed! I think you should add life guru to your titles. πŸ™‚
    I love the portrait, with the cleavage and the red lips and her expression, she looks like she knows she’s sexy and has a sense of humor about it. It has a sort of fun burlesque feel to it.

    • Texasjune says:

      That’s the greatest compliment I have ever heard! Wow! … life guru! …
      That girl is in me somewhere, way deep behind the fluffy fat, wrinkled aging skin, and tired bones!

      • LOL!! I’m overtired (but I’m waiting for a load of laundry to finish so I can’t go to bed yet), I’m giddy tired and the fluffy comment made me laugh till I cried. I needed that! So let’s add comedian to the list too πŸ™‚

  3. I love this post! It’s not what we do but what we love that makes us who were are πŸ™‚

    • Texasjune says:

      That’s why friendships at all levels are so important (including internet buddies). Getting to know who people really are is fascinating, and gives us a truer reality of the world around us. The more I meet, the more faith I have in humanity and see the creative good that appears.

You are welcome to share what you think?

