New Neighbor Cattle!


New Neighbors!

This morning when I went out to feed the cows and chickens, it was a balmy 85 degrees! I heard sirens way off in the distance and wondered why. It’s not uncommon around ranches to hear these, because they’re used for more than emergencies. As they grew louder, my curiosity got the best of me, so I got in my car and went to investigate. As I was driving down the gravel road toward the sound, I went over a little hill to face an unusual sight. Fence to fence covering the road, a large herd of cattle was advancing toward me. They were led by one pickup, and followed by two more! The lead truck had his siren on full blast. Would you have known what to do?

I quietly backed up a quarter mile to my gate, figuring they were being driven to a particular pasture. Sure enough, they were! I’m sure they had a spotter at the main county road a half mile away to warn drivers not to enter, but just in case I blocked the road with my car and was prepared to get out if one decided to stray. Nope, they don’t scare me – I know how to move around them and to move them if necessary, (a few – not a whole large herd by myself)! I’m a grandma, not a cowboy!

It was exciting to see modern-day cowboys handle their herds. That ranch has a reputation for being one of the best with superior and beautiful herds, and I’m so proud to be their neighbor. I look forward to seeing them across the road for several months.Β  Anyway, I just had to share my wonderful morning! I hope your day is special too!

3 comments on “New Neighbor Cattle!

  1. […] as she grieved over her dying trees and struggled to keep the herd healthy, I watched cattle leave, watched new cattle arrive and watched the rhythms of ranch life bend to the forces of nature. In the process, my admiration […]

  2. shoreacres says:

    Nice to hear of someone driving cattle to a pasture, rather than an auction barn. I presume they’re trucking in hay as well? From what I’ve seen around here and heard from other places, there just isn’t feed. Even Johnson Space Center, which has a good bit of hay available every year from their own land to feed their longhorns, has resorted to trucking in hay – the bales were delivered just about a week ago.

    (Longhorns at the Space Center? Sure – you can see a bit more here.

  3. I would love to watch some of those modern day cowboys handle the herd too! I’m thinking eye candy in tight jeans, a hat, and boots πŸ˜‰ But it must be a delight to be their neighbor. It would be wonderful to live in the country and have so much to admire!

You are welcome to share what you think?

