Should I adopt this cat?


Cat with Seven Toes

Friends are moving from the countryside to the city. They have a flock of chickens, a cat and dog, all raised together. Obviously, they have learned to coexist well.

I’ve been wanting chickens (for eggs) for a long time, but stayed busy with my cattle, and chores. I have the space for more animals without impacting not-so-close neighbors, so now the chicken pens are built and the hens are already laying eggs the first day here. I don’t want to adopt the dog, because I’m not willing to upset those I’ve already had a long time; their son will take him. That leaves … the cat!

The cat is estimated to be about eight months old. She showed up at their door a tiny kitten, and with reliable food and water, she has lived outdoors around their house – with the chickens and dog. I’ve never owned an outside cat before. I live way out in the country. Since I love and feel responsible for each of my animals, I need advice for a selfish reason – I don’t want my heart broken after bonding if the home I offer her is not in her best interest.

My idea is that she can continue to live outside – with a little cubby attached to the cabin wall outside the door, with a bowl of fresh water, dry food and pillow – then whenever we go in or out, she can come inside if she wants to. She has all her natural sharp claws and shots, but the owners refused to have her spayed. As her normal routine has been, she’s out all night and slept in their garage all day. I do wonder about stray cats that roam across my land (they live wild) – the occasional abandoned dog, wild pigs, fox, skunk, armadillo, possum, coon, owls, hawks.

Haven’t found my situation addressed on the regular pet websites. Any experienced cat owners/lovers with words of advice?

PS: She’s already won my heart!

4 comments on “Should I adopt this cat?

  1. She’s a beauty June! I have three cats, one is 22 , one is 17 and one is 10. Part of the reasons my cats live so long is that they’re spayed.. Plus with her not being spayed. you’ll have all those wandering Toms at your door marking their scent (major nasty smell!) Spaying her won’t hinder her ability to be an outdoor cat and will actually make her less of a target for other animals. (since she won’t after spaying be producing pheromones and making herself more noticeable.) so if you want her as an experienced cat owner I say go for it but I would get her spayed.

    • Texasjune says:

      I totally agree; every domesticated animal on our ranch is neutered, except the breeding-for-market ones! It is the responsible thing to do for the health and longevity of the critters we love. I need to write an update for the post – soon. Thanks for your good advice!

  2. Nita Prince says:

    If I were you I would take the cat, she is so pretty, if you decide to take her you might want to keep her inside until she gets use to being there. Then she will stay there when she gets use to it. Boy I have a bunch of kitties myself. I have 3 mama cats and they all three have had babies, I have 12 babies right now, and one of the mama’s is expecting again. Don’t know what I will do with them, I need to find homes for them, can’t take them to the pound because they will only keep them for 3 days and then they will put them to sleep. I just can’t do that to them. So looks like I will have a zoo of kitties here. LOL LOL

    • Texasjune says:

      Nita, I know where your heart is. I could easily be the next dog and cat hoarder, if I had the money to take care of them. As we get older it seems we are drawn more to trying to protect life, especially that which cannot protect itself. There is most likely an animal rescue group in your town that has a veterinarian member that offers low-cost spay and neutering. You might want to talk with them to find out how much they would charge to neuter your three mama cats – and help find homes for the offspring. Even if you could only keep one or two, you could still take care of them and you both would benefit from the relationship. My friend, only you can control the population that you now worry so much about. Be their best friend, and you’ll do the right thing for them, and find peace.
      Offered with love,
      June

You are welcome to share what you think?

